Calauag is a 2nd class municipality in Quezon among its forty (40) towns and the lone city of Lucena which is also the capital and the seat of the provincial government. It was founded in the year 1851 and its foundation anniversary is presently observed together with the celebration of the annual town fiesta every May 25.
The town proper is serenely nestled between a mountain and a sea and so strategically located yet accessible to land and sea transportation. Passing by along the hilly portion of the Maharlika Highway, one could take a glimpse of the whole town with the picturesque view of Calauag Bay in the background and further on, the vastness of Pacific Ocean. The townsfolk who are genial and peace loving still maintain the age-old tradition and customs and the close-knit family ties even at this modern age.
Basically an agricultural town, it has a total land area of 42,318 hectares with about 76% are planted to coconuts, rice, citrus and vegetables. Fishing is another source of livelihood for its populace living in the far-flung barangays particularly along the coasts off the Pacific Ocean. Fishponds operations have also found their way in Calauag adding to the flourishing fishing industry. Crabs from Calauag is known as the best in the Philippines.
The ideal peace and order situation obtaining in the town makes it a favorite stop over for travelers plying the route of Manila-Bicol Region and as far as Visayas and Mindanao. Lately, it is being dubbed as the melting pot or emerging transportation terminal in Southern Tagalog because of the three (3) terminals being operated by major transportation companies in the area. Going to this town will have a change for travelers to experience the enchanting Quezon National Forest Park (Bitukang Manok or Eme Road) situated in Towns of Atimonan and Pagbilao. There is a mini park with man-made lagoon on top of the mountain (old zig-zag) ideal place for resting, eating and car checking.
Calauag is composed of originally ninety (90) barangays and by the latest census, it has a total population of 71,621. There are at present 32,565 registered voters making its people highly politicized and well-informed of their rights of suffrage. Elections were consistently peaceful and orderly. Elected officials and career civil servants in the local government including the barangay officials are widely known for their dedication to their sworn duties to serve their constituencies.
The Municipality of Calauag is situated 230 kilometers southeast of Manila. Its boundaries are Lopez, Quezon on the West and South; Calauag Bay on the North; Guinyangan, Quezon and Sta.Elena, Camarines Norte on the East. It has a total land area of 42,318 hectares spread over ninety (90) barangays with twelve (12) barangays consisting of the town proper; twenty three (23) barangays situated along the roadside; twenty (20) barangays considered as inland; three (3) barangays are directly along the path railways; and thirty two (32) barangays are in the coastal area facing along the Pacific Ocean and inward going to the town proper, Calauag Bay.
According to the writings of VALENTIN MARTIN in his “ENSAYO DE UNA SINTESIS DE LOS TRABAJOS REALIZIDOS SOS LAS CORPORACIONES RELIGIOSAS ESPANOLAS DE FILIPINAS” the first record of the establishment of a settlement in Calauag dates as far as the year 1584. However, the formal founding of the town was placed in the year 1581 with the union of the settlements in Apad and Calauag.
The name Calauag was derived from an incident in which a huge turtle known locally as “KALA” was caught near the seashore of the town. When the people tried to kill the turtle with sticks, the fishermen who caught the turtle dissuaded them from doing so by shouting “KALA-HUWAG KALA”, hence the derivation of the name Calauag.
The first elected Captain of the town was Juan Sunog. In 1897 the town was placed the Revolutionary Government and Alipio Declaro became the Municipal President. In 1914 under Municipal President Marciano Roldan, the town was destroyed by fire for the first time in its history. In December 24, 1941, the town was occupied by the Japanese Imperial Army and in January 14, 1942, the town was again destroyed by fire. In April 19, 1945, the United States and Filipino forces liberated the town from Japanese occupation.
Calauag is politically subdivided into 81 barangays.
Barangay I (Pob.)
Barangay II (Pob.)
Barangay III (Pob.)
Barangay IV (Pob.)
Barangay V (Pob.)
Kalibo (Santa Cruz)
Poblacion Sabang I
Poblacion Sabang II
San Roque Ibaba
San Roque Ilaya
Poblacion Santa Maria
Santo Angel (Pangahoy)
Villa San Isidro